student scholarship awards

Press Release

October 15, 2008 Download as PDF

McGRAW-HILL RYERSON ANNOUNCES WINNERS OF ANNUAL SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM

Students recognized for integrity, engagement and initiative in the classroom

TORONTO (October 15, 2008) – To recognize and reward students who enhance the learning environment at their college or university, McGraw-Hill Ryerson Limited, a leading Canadian publisher of educational resources and information products and services, announces it has selected the winners of its annual McGraw-Hill Ryerson Student Scholarship Award program.

This year McGraw-Hill Ryerson offered 20 individual \$1,000 scholarships to any full-time undergraduate student currently studying at a college or university in Canada. More than 400 nominations for the scholarships were received this year.

Winners of the 2008 scholarship are:

Andrew Bateman from the University of Victoria

Hometown: Victoria, British Columbia

Joan Blake from the College of the North Atlantic

Hometown: St. Lunaire-Griquet, Newfoundland

Jillian Budd from Dawson College

Hometown: Montreal, Quebec

Remzi Cej from Memorial University of Newfoundland

Hometown: St. Johns, Newfoundland



Home

Press Release

Winners

2008

2007

2006

About the Program

About the Award

Eligibility

Criteria

Application Procedure

Timelines

Advisory Board / Adjudicators

About McGraw-Hill Ryerson

Contact

Apply Now!
2009
Scholarships

Jaclyn De Santis from the University of British Columbia

Hometown: Guelph, Ontario

Deanna Donaldson from the University of Victoria

Hometown: Nelson, British Columbia

Dennis Envoldsen from NSCAD University

Hometown: Halifax, Nova Scotia

Athiann Makuach Garang from Grant MacEwan College

Hometown: Edmonton, Alberta

Charlie Giurleo from McGill University

Hometown: Montreal, Quebec

Kyle Jackson from Simon Fraser University

Hometown: North Vancouver, British Columbia

Sarah Johnson from McGill University

Hometown: Montreal, Quebec

Myrna Lingenfelter from Dalhousie University

Hometown: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia

Dana Marsh from the University of Alberta

Hometown: St Paul, Alberta

Natalie Martiniello from Dawson College

Hometown: Montreal, Quebec

Stephen Mitchell from the University of Ottawa

Hometown: Ottawa, Ontario

Joseph Smith from York University

Hometown: Toronto, Ontario

Hoda Soltani from Brescia University College

Hometown: London, Ontario

Judit Takacs from the University of Waterloo

Hometown: Winnipeg, Manitoba

Jessica Tang from Simon Fraser University

Hometown: Burnaby, British Columbia

http://www.mcgrawhill.ca/microsites/scholarships/press_release.php (2 of 3) [10/16/2008 5:07:30 PM]

Sarah Young from the University of Calgary

Hometown: Calgary, Alberta

In addition to academic and personal integrity, nominations were evaluated based on the student's classroom engagement and initiative. The scholarship review committee, a non-partisan board including educators and administrators from colleges and universities across Canada, reviewed the applications. The committee looks for students who show respect and empathy for others, whose overall behaviour and participation have a positive impact on the classroom, and who draw upon the full array of learning resources available to them. To be eligible for the scholarship, each student must be nominated by a professor.

"It is evident these winners bring exceptional value to the classroom based on the nominations we received. We are proud to celebrate these students' involvement in enhancing their educational experience and that of their peers," said Patrick Ferrier, president of McGraw-Hill Ryerson Higher Education. "As a major provider of learning solutions, McGraw-Hill Ryerson looks forward to continuing to recognize outstanding individuals through our scholarship program."

McGraw-Hill Ryerson will accept 2009 scholarship nominations until June 15, 2009. More information on the program and nomination guidelines may be obtained at http://www.mcgrawhill.ca/scholarships.

About McGraw-Hill Ryerson Ltd.

McGraw-Hill Ryerson Limited, in business since 1944, is a leading Canadian publisher of educational resources and information products and services for lifelong learning and enjoyment. Additional information is available at http:///www.mcgrawhill.ca.

Contacts:

Tom Stanton
McGraw-Hill Education
(212) 904-3214
tom stanton@mcgraw-hill.com

Jeff MacLean McGraw-Hill Ryerson (905) 430-5013 jeffm@mcgrawhill.ca

Home | Privacy Notice | Terms of Use | © 2008 McGraw-Hill Ryerson Ltd. All rights reserved.